Forex – Dollar Steadies After Hitting 3-Week Low on Rate Cut Hopes


© Reuters.

Investing.com — Foreign exchange markets are correcting some of Monday’s sharp movements in early trade in Europe on Tuesday, slowly absorbing the shock of the trade war escalation between the U.S. and China.

At 03:00 AM ET (0700 GMT), the was at 97.115, with the greenback giving up some of its gains against the , and risk-proxy currencies such as the , while clawing back its losses against the . The index measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies.

Against the , the U.S. dollar was flat at 6.8769.

On Monday, the index had hit a three-week low of 96.822 as investors fled the U.S. equity market in search of safe havens and raised their bets on the Federal Reserve cutting interest rates this year. The yield on the fell eight basis points on Monday to 2.19% and is now clearly below even the bottom end of the targeted Fed Funds rate of 2.25%-2.50%.

New York Fed President said in a speech on Monday that the low interest rate environment is likely to persist for years, but gave no clearer hints about how the Fed will react to the latest trade developments. Fed chairman Jerome Powell had called the trade dispute one of the key risks to the economy at his last press conference.

More clues as to the Fed’s reaction function could come when Kansas City Fed President Esther George speaks at 12:45 PM ET (1645 GMT), and Fed board member speaks at 6 PM ET (2200 GMT).

Before that, the first of the big European confidence indicators for May – Germany’s – is due at 5 AM ET (0900 GMT), while faces a test from the monthly at 4:30 AM ET (0830 GMT), where the market will be looking to see whether do any more to justify an interest rate hike when the fog of Brexit lifts.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Comments

comments