Dollar Rises After BoJ's Kuroda Talks Down Yen; ZEW, U.K. Jobs Data Eyed


© Reuters.

Investing.com — The dollar was broadly flat against the euro and sterling in early trade in Europe Tuesday but rose against the yen after Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda said he was willing to take action to stop the currency rising too far.

At 03:00 AM ET (0800 GMT), the dollar was at 110.75 , up from an earlier low of 110.45.

Answering questions from lawmakers, said the BoJ would ramp up stimulus if a sharp rise in the yen hurt the economy and made it harder to reach the bank’s 2% inflation target.

The yen strengthened sharply at the end of last year as the collapse in risk appetite led traders to unwind carry trades funded in the Japanese currency. It had spent most of 2019 giving up those gains until turning up after last week’s shockingly weak U.S. economic data.

In Europe, the has continued its rise back above $1.13 in early trading ahead of a flood of data over the next few days that will show whether the slowdown has bottomed out or is getting worse. Tuesday’s data calendar is dominated by the German sentiment index, due at 5:00 AM ET (10:00 GMT).

The , which measures the greenback against a basket of currencies, weakened as the euro rose, and was at 96.672 by 3:40 AM ET (8:40 GMT).

The was little changed at $1.2929, ahead of the monthly from the Office for National Statistics, due at 4:30 AM (9:30 GMT).

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Comments

comments